Skip to content



Mythopoeic Awards: 2010 Finalists Announced

Posted on June 01, 2010

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the finalists for the 2010 Mythopoeic Awards. Download the press release in PDF format. For more information about the awards, visit the Awards section of this site; the finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this section.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon 41, to be held July 9-12, 2010, in Dallas, Texas.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Barbara Campbell, Trickster’s Game trilogy consisting of Heartwood, Bloodstone, and Foxfire (DAW)
  • Greer Gilman, Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales (Small Beer Press)
  • Robert Holdstock, Avilion (Gollancz)
  • Catherynne M. Valente, Palimpsest (Spectra)
  • Jo Walton, Lifelode (NESFA Press)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Kage Baker, The Hotel Under the Sand (Tachyon)
  • Shannon Hale, Books of Bayern consisting of The Goose Girl, Enna Burning, River Secrets, and Forest Born (Bloomsbury)
  • Grace Lin, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon (Little, Brown)
  • Malinda Lo, Ash (Little, Brown)
  • Lisa Mantchev, Eyes Like Stars (Feiwel & Friends)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • Gavin Ashenden, Charles Williams: Alchemy and Integration (Kent State, 2008)
  • Dimitra Fimi, Tolkien, Race, and Cultural History: From Fairies to Hobbits (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)
  • Douglas Charles Kane, Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion (Lehigh Univ. Press, 2009)
  • Michael Ward, Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis (Oxford, 2008)
  • Elizabeth A. Whittingham, The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth (McFarland, 2008)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

    • Lucas H. Harriman, Lilith in a New Light: Essays on the George MacDonald Fantasy Novel (McFarland, 2008)
    • Farah Mendlesohn, Rhetorics of Fantasy (Wesleyan Univ. Press, 2008)
    • Marek Oziewicz, One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card (McFarland, 2008)
    • Leslie A. Sconduto, Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity through the Renaissance (McFarland 2008)
    • Caroline Sumpter, The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)