Skip to content



Mythopoeic Awards: 2012 Winners Announced

Posted on August 05, 2012

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon 43 in Berkeley, California, on August 5, 2012. Download the press release.

Fantasy Awards

Adult Literature

The Uncertain Places by Lisa GoldsteinLisa Goldstein, The Uncertain Places (Tachyon Publications) Buy The Uncertain Places from Amazon

Children’s Literature

The Freedom Maze by Delia ShermanDelia Sherman, The Freedom Maze (Big Mouth House) Buy The Freedom Maze from Amazon

Scholarship Awards

Inklings Studies

Tolkien and Wales by Carl PhelpsteadCarl Phelpstead, Tolkien and Wales: Language, Literature and Identity (Univ. of Wales Press, 2011) Buy Tolkien and Wales from Amazon

Myth & Fantasy Studies

The Enchanted Screen by Jack ZipesJack Zipes, The Enchanted Screen: The Unknown History of Fairy-Tale Films (Routledge, 2011) Buy The Enchanted Screen from Amazon

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2011 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings.” Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility.  Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2009–2011) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon XLIII in Berkeley, California, on August 5, 2012. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator:

David D. Oberhelman
306 Edmon Low Library
Oklahoma State University Library
Stillwater, OK 74078