Skip to content



News

 

Mythopoeic Awards: 2011 Winners Announced

Posted on July 17, 2011

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon 42 in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on July 17, 2011. Download the press release.

Fantasy Awards

Adult Literature

Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord
Karen Lord, Redemption in Indigo (Small Beer Press)
Buy Redemption in Indigo from Amazon

Children’s Literature

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
Megan Whalen Turner, The Queen’s Thief Series consisting of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings
(Greenwillow Books)
Buy The Thief from Amazon

Scholarship Awards

Inklings Studies

Planet Narnia by Michael Ward
Michael Ward, Planet Narnia (Oxford, 2008)
Buy Planet Narnia from Amazon

Myth & Fantasy Studies

The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale
Caroline Sumpter, The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale (McFarland, 2008)
Buy The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale from Amazon


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2010 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings.” Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award.

The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2008–2010) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon XLII in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on July 17, 2011. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator:

David D. Oberhelman
306 Edmon Low Library
Oklahoma State University Library
Stillwater, OK 74078
awards@mythsoc.org