Skip to content

Mythopoeic Society

a non-profit organization devoted to the study of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams, the Inklings, and the genres of myth and fantasy

Mythopoeic Awards

Alexei Kondratiev Award (Student Paper)

In 2010, the society introduced a new award for the best paper presented at Mythcon by an undergraduate or graduate student. This award, first presented at Mythcon 41, was named in honor of Alexei Kondratiev, long-time Society member and a scholar of wide-ranging interests in mythopoeic and related studies, who passed away in 2010. The winners of the award receive a certificate, a one-year subscription to Mythlore, and half-off registration for the next Mythcon he or she attends.


  • 2010: Michael Milburn, “Art According to Romantic Theology: Charles Williams’ Analysis of Dante Adapted to J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘Leaf by Niggle.’” Published in Mythlore 29.3/4 (113/114).
  • 2011: Andrew Hallam, “Thresholds to Middle-earth: Allegories of Reading, Allegories for Knowledge and Transformation.” Published in Mythlore 30.1/2 (115/116), 23-42
  • 2012: Alyssa House-Thomas, “The Wondrous Orientalism of Lord Dunsany.”
  • 2013: Megan B. Abrahamson, “J.R.R. Tolkien, Fanfiction, and the ‘Freedom of the Reader’.” Published in Mythlore 32.1 (123).
  • 2014: Dominic J. Nardi, “The Law of the Rings: Reevaluating Politics in J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle-earth.”