Skip to content

Mythopoeic Awards

Mythopoeic Awards – 2013

  • Announcements: Finalists (May 14) | Winners (July 14) | Acceptance Remarks (July 19)

    All Finalists

    Fantasy Awards

    Adult Literature

    • Ursula Vernon, Digger, vols. 1-6 (Sofawolf Press)
    • Alan Garner, Weirdstone trilogy, consisting of The Weirdstone of Brisingamen (Collins), The Moon of Gomrath (Collins), and Boneland (Fourth Estate)
    • Caitlin R. Kiernan, The Drowning Girl (Roc)
    • R.A. MacAvoy, Death and Resurrection (Prime Books)
    • Tim Powers, Hide Me Among the Graves (William Morrow)

    Children’s Literature

    • Sarah Beth Durst, Vessel (Margaret K. McElderry)
    • Jorge Aguirre and Rafael Rosado, Giants Beware! (First Second)
    • Merrie Haskell, The Princess Curse (HarperCollins)
    • Christopher Healy, The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom (Walden Pond Press)
    • Sherwood Smith, The Spy Princess (Viking Juvenile)

    Scholarship Awards

    Inklings Studies

    • Verlyn Flieger, Green Suns and Faërie: Essays on J.R.R. Tolkien (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)
    • Robert Boenig, C.S. Lewis and the Middle Ages (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)
    • John Bremer, C.S. Lewis, Poetry, and the Great War 1914-1918 (Lexington Books, 2012)
    • Jason Fisher, ed., Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays (McFarland, 2011)
    • Corey Olsen, Exploring J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012)

    Myth and Fantasy Studies

    • Nancy Marie Brown, Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)
    • Jo Eldridge Carney, Fairy Tale Queens: Representations of Early Modern Queenship (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)
    • Bonnie Gaarden, The Christian Goddess: Archetype and Theology in the Fantasies of George MacDonald (Fairleigh Dickinson Univ. Press, 2011)
    • Michael Saler, As If: Modern Enchantment and the Literary Prehistory of Virtual Reality (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)
    • David Sandner, Critical Discourses of the Fantastic, 1712-1831 (Ashgate, 2011)