Skip to content

Mythopoeic Awards

Mythopoeic Awards – 2005

Announcements: Finalists (May 21, 2005) | Winners (August 15, 2005) | Acceptance Remarks

Fantasy Awards

Adult Literature

  • Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke *
  • The Anvil of the World by Kage Baker
  • Mortal Love by Elizabeth Hand
  • Alphabet of Thorn by Patricia A. McKillip
  • The Wizard Knight by Gene Wolfe consisting of (The Knight and The Wizard)

Children’s Literature

  • A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett *
  • Arthur Trilogy by Kevin Crossley-Holland (consisting of The Seeing Stone, At the Crossing Places, and King of the Middle March)
  • Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer
  • Trilogy consisting of Wise Child, Juniper, and Colman by Monica Furlong
  • The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix (consisting of Sabriel, Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr, and Abhorsen)

Scholarship Awards

Inklings Studies

  • War and the Works of J.R.R. Tolkien by Janet Brennan Croft *
  • Tolkien the Medievalist, edited by Jane Chance
  • Following Gandalf: Epic Battles and Moral Victory in The Lord of the Rings by Matthew Dickerson
  • Bareface: A Guide to C.S. Lewis’s Last Novel by Doris T. Myers
  • Tolkien in the Land of Heroes by Anne C. Petty

Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Robin Hood: A Mythic Biography by Stephen Thomas Knight *
  • Vampire Legends in Contemporary American Culture: What Becomes a Legend Most by William Patrick Day
  • The Meanings of Beauty and the Beast by Jerry Griswold
  • Diana Wynne Jones: An Exciting and Exacting Wisdom, edited by Teya Rosenberg