



The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: August 7, 2016

2016 Mythopoeic Award Winners

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Naomi Novik, Uprooted (Del Rey)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature

Ursula Vernon, Castle Hangnail (Dial Books)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Grevel Lindop, Charles Williams: The Third Inkling, (Oxford Univ. Press, 2015)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Jamie Williamson, The Evolution of Modern Fantasy: From Antiquarianism to the Ballantine Adult Fantasy Series (Palgrave Macmillan, 2015)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen, in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature "Young Adults" may be moved to the Adult literature category.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2013–2015) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards were announced at **Mythcon 47** in San Antonio, Texas, on August 7, 2016. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

http://www.mythsoc.org/awards.htm

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the **Mythopoeic Awards**, please contact the Awards Administrator:

David D. Oberhelman 306 Edmon Low Library, Oklahoma State University Library Stillwater, OK 74078 awards@mythsoc.org