



The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: July 14, 2013

## 2013 Mythopoeic Award Winners

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Ursula Vernon, *Digger*, vols. 1-6 (Sofawolf Press)

**Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature** Sarah Beth Durst, *Vessel* (Margaret K. McElderry)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies Verlyn Flieger, *Green Suns and Faërie: Essays on J.R.R. Tolkien* (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)

## Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Nancy Marie Brown, Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2012 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings." Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of *The Hobbit* or *The Chronicles of Narnia*. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2010–2012) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards were announced at **Mythcon 44** in East Lansing, Michigan, on July 14, 2013. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

## http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the **Mythopoeic Awards**, please contact the Awards Administrator:

David D. Oberhelman 306 Edmon Low Library Oklahoma State University Library Stillwater, OK 74078 *awards@mythsoc.org*