

The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: August 2, 2004

2004 Mythopoeic Award Winners



Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Robin McKinley, *Sunshine* (Berkley, 2003)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature

Clare B. Dunkle, The Hollow Kingdom (Holt, 2003)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

John Garth, Tolkien and the Great War: The Threshold of Middle-earth (Houghton Mifflin, 2003)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

John Lawrence & Robert Jewett, *The Myth of the American Superhero* (Eerdmans, 2002)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2003 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings." Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of *The Hobbit* or *The Chronicles of Narnia*. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2001-2003) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards were announced at the banquet during Mythcon XXXV, which was held in Ann Arbor, Michigan, from July 30th–August 2, 2004. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

http://www.mythsoc.org/awards.html

A complete list of finalists for the awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the **Mythopoeic Awards**, please contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486. E-mail: *emfarrell@earthlink.net*.